Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Are counting calories CW? page

Theresa92 is offline Senior Member

Are counting calories CW?

Primal Fuel
    I am pretty new to eating primal-have only been doing it for about a month. I am trying to get healthier. The reason I decided to change my lifestyle to a primal one is because I am on antidepressant medication I would like to get off of, I have horrible energy levels, and if I do not eat every two hours I get very shaky. Also, I have about 10 pounds to lose which means I'd love to get rid of excess body fat. In the past, I lost weight by counting calories. I would use CW and eat mostly whole grains, with a little fat and protein. Since I made the change to eating primal, I have still counted calories, carbs, fat, protein but I mostly focus on keeping my carbs under 100g a day. I get about 50-60% calories from fat and about 30% protein.

I've noticed that despite eating the same macronutrient ratios, some days I am more hungry and some days I am less. For example, yesterday I was not too hungry. I ate about 1300 calories and was satisfied with that. Today, I am very hungry and have had about 1800 calories. Since I've spent so long eating the SAD, I know I am too obsessed with calories. So, as a complete noob, I'm wondering if calories are really necessary to pay attention when losing weight? I do not eat grains, and eat very minimal dairy(only butter a couple times a week). I also do not eat nuts. I eat mostly fatty meats, coconut, and non-starchy vegetables. Sometimes a couple of strawberries.