Thread: Is this a good deal on grass-fed beef? page

Dave P is offline Junior Member

Is this a good deal on grass-fed beef?

Shop Now
    I found this "deal" at a semi-local farm (about an hour away) on grass-fed beef. what do you think, good deal or not so much?

Price $199

Hunter Cattle.jpg

Jmb
    Jmb is offline Junior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Dave P View Post
    I found this "deal" at a semi-local farm (about an hour away) on grass-fed beef. what do you think, good deal or not so much?

Price $199

Hunter Cattle.jpg
    Are you at Fort Stewart or HAAF?

Dave P is offline Junior Member
    Wilmington Island (oustside SAV), used to be at Hunter back in the day.

yodiewan is online now Senior Member
    I can't see the picture you posted. They usually take about a day to get approved. I've been buying cuts from Hunter Cattle for the past 3 years or so. I've never been dissapointed and like the fact that they offer the more obscure cuts like heart, tongue, and marrow bones. I'm getting a chest freezer soon and will see what kind of deal they will offer me for a bulk purchase.

yodiewan is online now Senior Member
    Your picture was approved. So if I counted right, that's 30 lbs. of meat. At $200, that works out to $6.7 / lb. That sounds like a decent price to me. I've heard some people on this forum report better deals for buying a half cow from other farms, but maybe that was hanging weight and not trimmed, ready to eat cuts.

I finally got my chest freezer, so I plan to also make a large order soon! Do you know if Hunter Cattle offers a discount for purchasing a quarter or half versus just buying a large number of cuts?

dbalch is offline Senior Member
    I would say 6.70 a pound average is a very good deal. I get ground beef for 4.99, but it goes for 6.99 or 7.99 at Whole Foods. So if you're getting a sirloin and ribeye steak in there, that's a good price.