Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fish Oil Supplements page

Fish Oil Supplements

Primal Fuel
    In order to get more Omega 3 FA, I purchased a fish oil supplement from Whole Foods. I failed to read the back and thought all were the same. I'm a newbie and am still learning so please don't beat me up too badly. What ingredients should I look out for or what brand is seems to be the best?

Thank you!

Steve

Come on people. Need some help here

NWPrimate is offline Senior Member
    Because I grass fed almost exclusively, and have a low overall omega 6 intake at this point, I switched over to Krill oil so that I can keep the total PUFA intake lower. I eat salmon once or twice a week, so I could possibly skip the supplementation all together, but I'm working under the assumption that my ten years of fast food based SAD diet probably depleted my O3 stores pretty badly, and would prefer to give my body the chance to "stock up".

The way I understand it, the omega-3 in Krill oil is considerably more bioavailable than it is in fish oil, allowing you to get the same benefit with a lower total intake. If I remember correctly, it has something to do with Phospholipids, but I'm out of my depth there.

Apparently natural astaxanthin content of the krill oil makes it less likely to oxidize.

I realize that I'm starting to sound like a Mercola commercial, so if anyone has any disagreements with any of this, I'm totally open to more information.

Here's what I'm currently taking...
    Swanson EFAs 100% Pure Krill Oil 500 mg 60 Sgels - Swanson Health Products

namelesswonder is online now Moderator
    Well, what's on the back that you're so worried about?