Thread: High carb weekend page

PaleoHeather is offline Junior Member

High carb weekend

Shop Now
    This weekend I graduated college and as a result went out a lot. Friday night I was taken out for sushi, Saturday I was again taken out for sushi (no complaints here), and Sunday I had a party. For the party I had planned to have meat, more meat, and some veggies and then ice cream for a treat. I said I didn't want a cake but my mom showed up with one anyways. I wound up having a slice of cake and some Ritz crackers with cheeseball. The majorly unprimal things I had were the cake and crackers and some Cheetos.

I felt fine after the sushi Friday and Saturday - I had no other high carb items and no other grains. I woke up Monday feeling bloated, gassy, and sluggish after the cake, Cheetos, and crackers. Does rice digest a lot easier than the wheat items? I've been eating sushi about once a week since going Primal with no ill effects. Also I weighed myself and am up 5lbs. I don't know if it is water retention from eating higher salt, bloating from the wheat, or what? I couldn't have gained 5lbs of fat in 4 days and I was weighing 5 lbs less on Thursday morning.

IcarianVX is offline Senior Member
    Rice is food. Cake, crackers and Cheetos are things that you can stick in your face, chew and swallow, but that doesn't mean they are food.
    Of all the grains that you could eat, rice is the most benign and actually has a place in carb cycling and refeeds.
    People too weak to follow their own dreams will always try to discourage others.

lssanjose is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by IcarianVX View Post
    Rice is food. Cake, crackers and Cheetos are things that you can stick in your face, chew and swallow, but that doesn't mean they are food.
    Of all the grains that you could eat, rice is the most benign and actually has a place in carb cycling and refeeds.
    Many people still haven't warmed up to white rice, despite this.