Thread: Any naturopaths/naturopath students here? page

Bern is offline Member

Any naturopaths/naturopath students here?

Primal Fuel
    I'm a registered nurse and I am soo frustrated with Western medicine. Because of the focus on curing symptoms rather than causes of disease. Because a medication will fix anything (sore? reflux? high cholesterol? depressed? take a pill!). Because of a majority patients take no responsibility for their own health. I could go on.

I am thinking about studying naturopathy. I like it's philosophy that the body can self-heal when supported with the correct nutrition/conditions. Kind of like the primal blueprint philosophy. I would love to be able to promote a paleo lifestyle for health!

Looking at the course guide I would be studying subjects like iridology and homoeopathy. Not knowing much about these I've done some research and found that studies have not found them to be very accurate in diagnosis/effective in treatment. Even searching MDA I found a very discrediting article for homoeopathy! Homeopathy: Can We Please, As a Society, Let This One Go? | Mark's Daily Apple

Now, my Western medical training has taught me to work using evidence based practice and I really want to believe 100% in what I do!

I would love to hear from some naturopaths or students or anyone who has an opinion. Do you learn about the scientific basis of these therapies? do you pick and chose which elements of this broad teaching you want to practice?

I am not being closed minded about these particular therapies and if you have any interesting articles to share I'd love to learn more!

Just want to make a really informed decision about this career change

Bern

activia is offline Senior Member
    Look at functional medicine and read this site www.chriskresser.com
    Primal since March 2011

Female/29 years old/5' 1"/130ish lbs

Bern is offline Member