Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should I buy meat online? page

Tec26 is offline Junior Member

Should I buy meat online?

Primal Fuel
    I'm new to primal eating. Due to sudden health issues, I am sort of forced to eat primal.

I really want to eat high quality meat from now on.. Theirs a few health market places I can go to but they're sort of out of my way and I am pretty busy so I was thinking of ordering online.

First question is.

Is it considered safe? I mean the whole idea of meat being delivered to the door is strange for me but it would also be kind of nice.

Is it a rip off? I'm sure it can be pretty expensive. But on the other hand, I'll be saving gas and a trip to the market.

I used the search option and read a few opinions but didn't really find as much info as I had hoped.

js290 is offline Senior Member
    Support your local farmer if possible...

Eat Wild

sbhikes is offline Senior Member
    I've ordered from US Wellness. They have a minimum order size to guarantee the meat will stay frozen. They ship it to your doorstep in a large styrofoam cooler. The cooler seems wasteful but I think they have a cooler take-back program. If not them, I think I've seen other companies that do. Of course, my research shows that take-back programs mostly assuage guilt rather than actually recycle or reuse anything. I don't think it's a rip-off at all to order meat from US Wellness. The prices for local grass-fed beef are higher for me. I usually buy the local though just because I can go get it from the market whenever I want, but the odd things like the pemmican and the kidney fat I have to order.
    Female, 5'3", 49, Starting weight: 163lbs. Current weight: 135 (more or less).
    Starting squat: 45lbs. Heaviest squat: 180 x 2. Heaviest Deadlift: 230 x 2

lssanjose is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by js290 View Post
    Support your local farmer if possible...

Eat Wild