Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to triathlon training and confused about carbs! page

grecorosana is offline Junior Member

Cool New to triathlon training and confused about carbs!

Primal Fuel
    Hi all, I recently started training for my FIRST triathlon and my coach keeps insisting that I have to eat more carbs. I have been Primal since November 2011 or so and I've gotten used to eat between 50-60 grams of carbs and 1300 calories on most days. I absolutely refused to drink those sugary drinks, eat those cardboard bars, or any form of wheat, so I bought sweet potatoes, quinoa, bananas, oranges and dried fruit to start from there. Is there a certain carb range I should be aiming to especially on days where I do two workouts? If so, what would that be? Can you please share your experience with me?
    I am female, 34 years old, 164lbs and 21%BF

Thanks!
    Rosana

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    the foods you got are good choices, but the amounts are really going to be up to you and a little experimentation. try your workouts on your current carb amounts and see how your body does. if you're tired or hungry later in the day or the next day, it might be time to up the calorie intake a bit. if that doesn't help, then add in a little bit of those carbs, and see how it goes. really experiment...try carbs pre-workout, post-workout, the day before, the day after, low carb, very low carb, etc. and keep a journal or find some way to track how your body is responding. that might help give you a sense of what you need for fuel and how much.