Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Peanuts??!! page

Cavemanseph is offline Junior Member

Peanuts??!!

Primal Fuel
    Hi, I'm new to primal and am so far enjoying it but am wondering what is so bad about peanuts/peanut butter??
    What negative effect does it have?

Cheers!

erliechda is offline Junior Member

I'm new here too!

I am also just starting out in this lifestyle choice (2 months). Admittedly, I feel I may be making quite a few mistakes, but peanut butter is a big part of my diet (at least it isn't JIF anymore?...), and I make it a point to buy the organic, raw and, quite frankly, kinda dull peanut butter. I add some salt, spread it over bananas and apples and call it breakfast (and, a LOT of days, lunch).

I try not to use too much, but sometimes it is all the weight I get in my diet during the day.

Having said that, I'm down 15 pounds and feel great! At least physically. The hard part of this diet seems to be the emotional and, if I'm honest, the judgmental part. That's why I appreciate this particular forum. People seem open to the process here. I've looked at other forums for help and people are militant! I figure; "Hey... life is a work in progress and I'm trying to do the best I can for myself and, most importantly, my two children." If that makes sense.

I seem to have wandered off the topic a little, and I am, perhaps, a touch embarrassed about that...

chronyx is offline Senior Member
    This is a well-timed topic as I was meaning to ask if there is such a thing as O6 deficiency!

I take Omega 3 and eat plenty of sardines, but over the past couple of days have eaten a load of peanut butter and actually feel much better for it.

Other than that I don't eat any nuts/seeds so I'm not sure what other omega 6 sources there are. Main meats are beef, lamb, pork - all free range and organic if possible.

I'm glad I'm not the only 1! I was just interested as to why we aren't supposed to have it.