Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stalled or Simply Stagnant? page

LSUhoneybadger is offline Junior Member

Stalled or Simply Stagnant?

Primal Fuel
    I sent this post to Mark before realizing I would get quicker feedback here. I have loved this site for a long time yet this is my first post. Thanks in advance to all for reading.

I've been doing Paleo for 2 months almost religiously as well as getting back in the gym. Actually a little longer but really strict for this length of time. My problem is I am 5'8 180 (with 19% bf according to the amazon handheld thingy). I have always been a pretty muscular guy because I used to work out all the time (I am 42) when growing up because frankly, there wasn't a hell of a lot more to do back then.

I've noticed my strength increases pretty fast since I've lifted pretty heavy (at least for me) since starting back.

I do cardio/interval/sprinting combos 3-4 times a week (30-45 mins) at least and walk/run my dog daily weather permitting.

Also, I lift weights at least 3 times a week doing full body exercising mostly. Deadlifts, Squats, Cleans, Presses are the staples and dumbbells. I dont think I've used a machine since returning.

To get to my point, my weight remains the same and sometimes even up a little near the 185 mark. This is freaking me out. My clothes are all too big from when I began and my 34 inch pants are no longer snug. I'm clearly losing inches but not weight. Surely I can't gain muscle at this rate? Also, Im eating as clean as possible and no more than 2000 calories a day--I've been tracking pretty dang closely. Often intermittent fasting simply because its always felt right for me and I always ate only when hungry even before I read the research.

I'd really like to get to 170lbs but it seems I am going nowhere fast. I know weight is just a number relative to everything else and yes I feel great and do at least 3 miles a day most days.