Thread: Katie's Journal - Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Swing page

katiethepiano is offline Senior Member

Katie's Journal - Or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Swing

Shop Now
    My name is Katie. I'm 22 years old, I'm a full-time graduate student, a musician, and a newly-minted kettlebell instructor. I've decided to start keeping a journal in honor of my first whole year living the primal life. Allow me to give you the low-down on this past year.

In July of 2010, I hit my peak weight of 211 pounds. I was a victim of chronic cardio - running, running, running, and fueling my running with high-carb, whole grain, low-fat fake foods. I also had issues with hypoglycemia. Being newly engaged, I sought the help of a nutritionist/acupuncturist. She taught me about sugar issues and prescribed a high protein, low-fat, low-carb diet. Instantly, I lost weight, without working out. Using that approach, I got my weight down to 175. I felt better than before, but I still had terrible gas and was very flabby.

I befriended a fellow alumna of my school on Facebook, who just so happened to be a hardstyle kettlebell trainer and a practitioner of the paleo diet. When I saw her, I was amazed. She was lean and muscle-y, and I thought, "Well, she must be doing something right." I purchased a copy of the Primal Blueprint and I've been forever changed. When I started the paleo diet last April, then kettlebell in early May. After beginning kettlebell, I immediately took to it. I thought it was so much fun and I was pretty good at the basic motions, like the swing, the get-up, the clean and press, the snatch, and goblet squat.

Best of all, my husband was behind me 100%. He also eats paleo and loves it. Even when I'm not around, he finds paleo-friendly foods to eat. He knows how much better he feels and he's lost a few pounds too.