Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question re: fuel and weight loss page

Lemmmmon is offline Junior Member

Question Question re: fuel and weight loss

Primal Fuel
    Hi All,

I'm new to the primal/paleo lifestyle and am having trouble wrapping my brain around how weight loss occurs with re-adjusted macros - that is, more fat, less carbs - but no significant change in calories consumed.

On a basic level, our body needs some thing to burn as fuel. If I consume 400 calories of carbs, how does that differ from 400 calories of fat? The way I understand it, the 400 calories of fat doesn't spike blood sugar, making me less hungry/lessens my "itching" for the next hit of food. As a result, I consumer fewer overall calories because of hunger depletion if I stick to a 50/30/20 (fat/protein/carb) split than a more traditional 20/30/50 split. But then isn't the primal/paleo diet just using calorie reduction as a mechanism for weight loss?

My guess is that you'll say no, it's not.....then I would ask, other than why, is it that the body processes fat such that when consumed, it doesn't release insulin? And if so, given insulin's role in "unlocking pores....[so that] nutrients can be stored inside the cell" (quoting primal blueprint book), wouldn't this be a negative thing?

Thanks to anyone who can explain this in plain terms for me....

Voyageur is offline Senior Member

You've got the basics down.

I suggest you ignore much of what you're going to be told here. I just heard a bunch of cookies hit computer desks.... and away we go!

There is a huge difference between talking about how to do something and getting it fucking done.

js290 is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemmmmon View Post
    Hi All,

I'm new to the primal/paleo lifestyle and am having trouble wrapping my brain around how weight loss occurs with re-adjusted macros - that is, more fat, less carbs - but no significant change in calories consumed.