Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sugar high? page

gumboots is offline Member

Sugar high?

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to primal, so bear with me for this long question.

I have fructose malabsorption, so for the last several months I've been on a low-FODMAP diet, which helped my IBS dramatically. I still got a lot of fatigue, though, and found that the more I cut sugar from my diet, the harder it was for my body to handle it. Gradually I found that I could no longer tolerate anything sweet, even when the ingredients had a good fructose-glucose ratio.

I had already mostly cut out grains and legumes because of the fructose malabsorption, but I cut them out 100% about three weeks ago and really upped my protein and fat intake, plus a lot of well-tolerated vegetables and (some) fruits to round out the nutrition. I have been feeling great, good energy, clear mind!

Whenever I eat anything too sweet, though, I still get this sugar high, and I feel like I'm on acid - hot face, a little loopy, confused. (It's not the same as the old fructose malabsorption symptoms, which had clear digestion manifestations.) Today I got it from drinking just 4oz of lactose-free milk in a cappuccino (lactose free milk is sweeter than regular milk, which I tolerate ok). I got it again when I succumbed to my sweet tooth and had these mostly primal pancakes:

1/6 cup buckwheat flour
    1/6 cup coconut flour
    .5 egg
    2 tbsp coconut oil
    2/3 cup milk

with a stewed fruit sauce:
    1 stalk rhubarb
    5 strawberries
    (no added sugar)

I feel like I could launch into space at any minute, even though fitday says that's about 26 total carbs, i.e. as much as in a banana (which is usually fine for me).