Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Just got my Blood Work back...Help Please page

Spinman is offline Member

Just got my Blood Work back...Help Please

Hello,

I have been primal for about two months and at the urging of my family had some blood work done.

Total Cholesterol: 383
    HDL: 64
    LDL: 288
    TRI: 155

I assume the LDL number was backed into not specifically tested.

My doc has suggested statins and I'm not interested in doing it. I'm also not a doctor and it seems every doc and cardiologist who sees these numbers would suggest statins.

How do I analyze these numbers? How do I explain to my doc that I don't buy the cholesterol/heart disease connection?

I am going to get retested in a month after I "clean up" my diet. He's also going to test for LDL specifically.

Any feedback on this data would be helpful. I am 37. 6'2 and 225 with probably 18% body fat. I really don't think I need a pill for the rest of my life.

L8F
    L8F is offline Senior Member
    Have your doc look at your thyroid in detail, it can be a cause for elevated cholesterol. Are you doing ok on your basic other labs, Vitamin D, Iron, others? These numbers are high. Are you grain free? Trigs should come down with a lower carb primal diet. Depending on which camp you listen to, they should def. be under 100, and some say less. I would also slow up on the dairy, and get some blood glucose and insulin testing despite your physical wellbeing in terms of body fat etc. Cortisol also a big player in messing with all body systems. With your body comp and age and likely activity levels, the numbers show something is off a little, and warrant looking into a little closer... (Lots of people say super high cholesterol is ok, but I am of the opinion that it can be an indicator that all systems are not working super well together, and need some tweaking)

Check out Chris Kresser's site for good info on all this stuff.
    Last edited by L8F; 04-16-2012 at 08:52 AM.