Thread: What made you go primal? page

Gilleh is offline Senior Member

Question What made you go primal?

Hello everybody.
    So my question here is, as the title says,
    What made you go primal?
    How long are you primal?
    Did you achieve your goal?
    Everything is bad for something - How do you feel today?

abbyful is offline Member
    Just being healthier in general. I don't want to lose weight (I'd actually like to gain 5-10 pounds of muscle, I've been "underweight" my whole life) and don't have any health problems. I'm in my late 20s, I figure it's easier to maintain my weight and health than it is to try to fix things 20-30 years from now.

I've been dabbling in primal for about 9 months. I'm not super strict about it (I cheat on holidays and when I go on vacation or go to restaurants), but the majority of meals I cook at home and I try to make them almost all be primal meals. I'd say I'm probably 75% primal.

SophieScreams is offline Senior Member
    I was just so sick of being in pain after literally every SAD meal I ate. I felt that my body was telling me to eat real food only, and nothing else.

I've witnessed the end-stage devastating effects of abusing the body with "food" and poor lifestyle choices in the patients I care for.

I grew up with sick, obese, sad family members trying anything to gain control over their own health, except make the choice to eat real food.

I've had my own health and insecurity issues to address.

For all these reasons, I've chosen Paleo for myself. And I'll stick with it because I've seen the future of SAD, and it ain't pretty.
    And, I love the food!
    “Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it.” Rumi

paleo-bunny is offline Senior Member
    I've been a naturopath at heart for a couple of decades now, so the the primal/paleo way of life is a good fit for my philosophy.