Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New to Primal ... Rate My Diet? page

Tim1459 is offline Junior Member

New to Primal ... Rate My Diet?

Primal Fuel
    Hello, I'm new to primal living, and not very knowledgeable about nutrition in general at all.

I have a few questions, maybe you guys can help.

I have been eating primal for a couple weeks (easing into it) and have been tracking my eating with my fitness pal.

1st Question is: Are the microwaveable 'steamers' bags good or bad? Pictsweet, Birdseye, etc...

2nd Question is: Am I getting enough nutrition?

My Diet yesterday was...
    Lunch... 3oz Grilled Chicken Breast Strips & Steamed Broccoli, Cauliflower & Carrots
    Dinner... 3oz Grilled Chicken Breast Strips & Steamed Broccoli
    Snacks... 2cups Strawberries, 2cups Carrots, 1 Orange, 2cups Cucumber, and 1/4 cup Walnuts

Myfitnesspal says: 13g FAT, 86g CARBS, 59g PROTEIN

Low on Cholesterol, Sodium, Calcium, and Iron
    High on Fiber, Sugar, Vitamin A and C

Any suggestions on what to adjust, or is this fine, or do I need suppliments, any help is appreciated.

Of course I don't eat these exact same things each day, but I do in general. I'll eat an apple instead of orange, etc...

Thank you in advance
    Tim

sbhikes is online now Senior Member
    It appears you are trying to do this like any other low fat diet. You will fail.

First of all, read the ingredients on these steamers things. Are there any ingredients other than vegetables? If so, then you should just buy plain vegetables and learn how to steam them yourself.

Second, why are you avoiding fat like the plague? You need to read the getting started stuff in Mark's blog.
    Newbies Start Here: Primer to the Primal Blueprint Lifestyle | Mark's Daily Apple Health and Fitness Forum page
    Primal Blueprint 101 | Mark's Daily Apple
    Female, 5'3", 49, Starting weight: 163lbs. Current weight: 135 (more or less).
    Starting squat: 45lbs. Current squat: 180 x 2. Current Deadlift: 230 x 2