Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Primal and curious about why my calorie intake is sooo much lower... page

PaleoHeather is offline Junior Member

Question New to Primal and curious about why my calorie intake is sooo much lower...

Shop Now
    Hi, my name is Heather and I'm very new to Primal and curious about why my calorie intake is sooo much lower...but I'm not hungry!

First, I am 194 and 5'6", female, age 27. I've been doing Primal for 3 days. I tracked what I was eating on livestrong.com/myplate to make sure I was eating enough fat and protein while sticking to Primal foods.

Here is what I found the past two days:
    Day one, 1578 calories, 95 g fat, 76 g carbs, 21g fiber, 112 g protein.
    Day two, 1268 calories, 66 g fat, 91 g carbs, 25 g fiber, 83 g protein.

So, am I eating enough food and enough fat and protein? According to the carbohydrate curve I am staying in the 50-100g of carbs per day to lose weight easily. It's weird because I'm going to bed satisfied after not eating for several hours and not waking up hungry. When eating a carb heavy diet I had trouble sticking to 1800 calories and I was hungry all the time,

@lex is offline Senior Member
    You're eating highly satiating foods rich in nutrients and so on instead of nutritionally poor and processed garbage, so you don't need to eat as much. Real food also doesn't encourage overeating in the ways that processed junk does, so you're no longer eating for entertainment and simply eating to fill a nutritional need.
    Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who has said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own experience.

In the mind of the beginner, there are many possibilities; in the mind of the expert, there are few.

I've shaken hands with a raccoon and lived to tell the tale

SW: 220- 225 pounds at the beginning of January
    CW: 180 pounds

Goals for 2012: Lose a bit more fat and start a serious muscle and strength routine