Thread: I just want to love myself - ImANaturalBlue's Journal page

imanaturalblue is offline Junior Member

I just want to love myself - ImANaturalBlue's Journal

Primal Fuel
    I'm not a newbie to MDA or Primal eating - I originally starting poking around in February of 2011, just for fun, looking at people's success stories and feeling proud for them and proud of myself for not needing to be worried about my weight. That was then.

The summer before my junior year of college (summer of 2011), however, I started having eating problems; I fell off the Primal wagon. Out of nowhere I started consuming large amounts of sugary foods and carbs. I started putting on some weight, but I was still active so it wasn't a big deal; however, it really affected my emotions as I became ashamed of not being able to control my eating. Fast forward to the end of summer, and the beginning of school. I was about 10 lbs heavier, but it wasn't a huge thing. I figured I'd try and lose a little of it and began a Whole30. It was going well and I was seeing results when one night on Day 21 someone had a party at my house. We were up till 4 in the morning, as most college parties go, and in a fit of hunger I ate a bowl of macaroni and cheese. And it just spiraled down from there - I began eating crappy foods and feeling crappy and eating more crappy food and feeling worse. I gained about 50 lbs in four months, and hated myself. I couldn't look at myself in a mirror without bursting into tears and clothes shopping became a dreaded task, going to the local Goodwill to try and find pants that would fit. My family became concerned as I began to withdraw from people that I knew and avoiding contact who hadn't seen the "new" me. I was ashamed and embarrassed and hating myself as a person for letting myself go.