Thread: Homemade chicken stock HELP! page

miniGrokette is offline Member

Homemade chicken stock HELP!

Shop Now
    Hey everybody! I've been thinking it would be really convenient for me to be able to make soups at home. That being said, I am a college student and organic/grass-fed is not always in the budget. I'm also a little intimidated by the whole process. Does anyone have any recommendations about how to do this easily? Also any input on vegetable stock would be nice too. Thank you!

P.S. I am almost always cooking for one, sometimes two. What are good portions for that?

NorthernMonkeyGirl is offline Senior Member
    Do you have a slow cooker? It makes life a lot easier. Portions are hard to say; if I've done a chunky soup I'll eat less than a thinner soup. Gradually I learn how many ladles makes "a bowlful" then I can do a big batch and freeze in knotted plastic foodbags.

Stock essentially is boiling up bones with some flavourings.
    So for a chicken carcass I break it up a bit, shove it in the pot, halve a small onion (only peel off the papery skin), add a bay leaf, and a splash of white wine vinegar/cider vinegar. Pour over enough boiling water to cover the bones, put lid on, give it 2-4 hours (I don't like over-cooking chicken stock). It's ready when it smells yummy!

Vegetable stock - anything goes EXCEPT brassicas/crucifers (cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower etc). If you use a certain brand of stock cube, see which veggies they use. I'd start with carrot, onion, celery, bay leaf, leek? See how it goes.

KatieCHI is offline Member
    I used this chicken stock recipe with the carcass of a rotisserie chicken in a regular stew pot, but without the bay leaves. Worked really well, then I poured 2 cup portions into plastic baggies and froze them.

Homemade Chicken Stock | Mark's Daily Apple

EvansMom is offline Senior Member
    Watch tropical traditions stock in crockpot video. Its super easy.