I host Passover every year for friends and family.....I have to admit....gonna have to make matzoh ball soup.
Any crazy ideas?
Emmer flour: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emmer
Seems to be what they grew at the time of the Exodus. Still found growing wild in Egypt and Israel today. So long as you use a real animal fat (I believe chicken fat was traditional) I can't see how you can go wrong. No one said you have to eat them every day, assuming you want to avoid all wheat.
My girlfriend is jewish and primal and makes a pure primal Passover meal. I remember us having liver pate and roast lamb. We had like 5 other dishes but I cannot remember what they were. Probably had Devilled eggs too.
Wow. Excited to try the paleo matzah ball soup. Thanks for this resource.
Won't work. Can't use wheat products for passover, have to use matzah meal.
Originally Posted by billp
i'd just make the matzah balls and eat the broth and chicken. That's what I do. I find Passover very easy to do, just avoid the matzah (other than that required for ritual purposes, that is.)
I make a brisket tzimmes with grassfed beef brisket, prunes, sweet potatoes, onions and garlic, a little chicken broth. I put matzoh balls in the pan with the meat and veggies. I serve it with applesauce.
I only eat gluten free (oat) matzoh for the ritual and then just do without.
Now I am completely confused. That just shows the risks of careless glance at Wikipedia. I always thought it was a question of yeast, but from reading the Wikipedia article it looks like hametz is the state of being wetted for over 18 minutes.
Originally Posted by Abu Reena
As I understand it, matzah meal is crumbled up matzot. Am i right in thinking that it is the preparation technique, the cooking very quickly without yeast is what makes something floor based into matzot, and subsequently it can be cooked into anything in water for longer periods? Wikipedia is a bit vague. Are flours other than the five flours permissable?
I wouldn't worry about a but of wheat on special occasions, anyway. It's perfectly ok so long as one doesn't eat the stuff all the time and you aren't allergic to it.