Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carb cravings after a fever page

Avalon is offline Junior Member

Carb cravings after a fever

Shop Now
    This is my first time being sick since I began PB almost four months ago, and during the season change from winter to spring that's kind of a record for me. However, yesterday and today I got knocked on my ass by some kind of nasty, and my fever's only recently broken. Still, only 24 hours to break a fever? Not bad, not bat at all.

One weird thing - I've been over my carb cravings since three months ago. I'll crave a really good sandwich on pumpernickel bread every now and then, but it's NOTHING like what it used to be, and I've had no problems finding substitutes when they crop up. But after my fever broke, I felt like I might honestly KILL SOMEONE for a slice of thick, sugary chocolate cake. I haven't been able to shake the craving, and it's been almost 12 hours.

This is my first time having an issue like this while living primal. Is my body talking to me? Could the fever have burnt out my glycogen stores and it's time for a refeed (I tend to stay under 50g of carbs a day)? Or is this the last of the sickness just trying to screw with me? Anyone else experience anything similar?

Thanks in advance guys, here's to feeling better and grok-ing on.
    If you want to reach the end of the trail, first you must find the beginning.
    If you want to be strong enough to walk the trail, trust your feet.
    If you want to go fast, go alone - if you want to go far, go together.

6'0" white female, age 24
    Pre-paleo: 247.8 lbs
    Current weight: 212.8
    Goal: 199.9 (and to rock a two piece bathing suit surfing in Costa Rica this November!)

L8F
    L8F is offline Senior Member
    I have found that I got carb cravings after I had food poisoning and a fever. Also in the last part of my cycle they get kind of bad when they were quiet before...
    Started Whole30 December 31, 2011