Thread: Questions from a newbie page

TheBear is offline Junior Member

Questions from a newbie

Primal Fuel
    Hey there everyone!

I'm just getting into the Paleo/Primal thing and have a few questions. I am currently 210lbs at 6'4 and 23 years old. I can't tell you Body Fat % because I can't find a tape measure in my house... But I've definitely got some belly on me. I've come to Paleo from a long low-carbish background, (atkins, sugar busters, south beach) all of which worked to some extent or another and I managed to drop 100 lbs over a 4 year period (20-30lbs of that were probably muscle mass from after quitting football).

I was stuck in a rut and had been about 220 for over 4 months even though I thought I was eating well and was working out 5-6 days a week. I decided to see if Paleo could bust me out of the slump. It did and I've dropped 10lbs in the past month. I've read Robb's Paleo Solution book and Mark's Primal Blueprint. So I'm really excited about keeping things going, but I've got a few questions if y'all could help me out!

1. I ordered some fish oil (http://www.amazon.com/Nature-Made-Omega ... B0000DJAQU) and didn't read the ingredient list very carefully. Each softgel contains 360mg EPA, 240mg DHA, and 120 mg of "Other Omega-3." Soy is listed on the ingredient list so I'm assuming that is the "other." I know you don't want soy ideally but is that a major enough problem that I should throw it out, or just avoid buying it in the future?

2. I've mainly been focusing on weight loss, but would like to start doing some more muscle building type stuff for both strength and aesthetic reasons. I played football for 6 years and always took whey protein post-workout and felt that the results were good. Is this problematic? I don't want to mess up my weight loss as I still lack quite a bit before I get to where I want to be, but if I could start building muscle mass as I continue to lose fat that would seem to be more efficient.