Thread: Please share your daily/weekly routines! page

eastcoastal Guest

Specifically (but not exclusively) food routines?

I am finding out that I am not good at planning at all, and this style of eating seems to require quite a bit of it. An author of an msn article mentioned that she eats similar things daily and it allows her to better plan (financially) and be out of the food store in 30 min. More importantly, she is not standing in the kitchen wondering what to prep for next meal.

I realize that we can debate whether this sort of meal planning would include sufficient amounts of nutrients or not, but if you do have routines, please share. One extra difficulty for me is that I am allergic to eggs, pork, and to a lesser extent beef and dairy. Oh, and I donít feel all too well eating most nuts.

How do you shop, when do you cook, what do you freeze, when do you go to bed and wake up, when do you work out? Please share with a beginner before I get totally overwhelmed.

Thank you.

FlyNavyWife is offline Senior Member

Our grocery store is closed Sun-Mon, so we shop on Tuesdays typically.

I've been planning 3 dinners a week (different kinds of meat and veggies) and making sure to get ingredients for those. The other nights we may have leftovers, go out to eat, or just make something light and easy. I also get ingredients for lunch salads, and lots of eggs, and some fruit.

A bit ago I made a huge batch of breakfast sausage because having something ready-made helps me make sure to get enough protein in the morning (put half in the freezer so that it wouldn't go bad while we ate the first half). When this runs out I'll make a big batch of mini-breakfast-quiches (crustless) for the same reason.

I also wrote out a list of possible breakfasts, lunches, dinners that I tend to look at while I'm writing out my grocery list. It's helpful to me since I'm just starting but I imagine that later I won't need that as much.