Thread: food textures page

Andrew is offline Junior Member

Primal Fuel

I have recently started eating and living primally, just about a week and a half ago. Eating 'normal' cuts of chicken, beef and buffalo is something I have been doing for a while. But I have recently started dabbling in things like lamb and to my surprise have found myself not enjoying the fatty slimy texture of it-despite the meat being incredibly delicious. I still scarfed it down, just a little slower than I would a steak.

Has anyone else had a reaction like this at the beginning? I am definitely part of the younger generation who has never really seen these different textures in food. I really want to get into different types of meat that are usually seen as gross in America-mostly because I am a broke college student. I also want to get a taste for that kind of thing since I have applied to spend the next year in Iceland where the traditional food is fermented shark, rams testicles, puffin and goats head. Out of my own vanity, I would definitely want to be able to eat the traditional food.

Could there be a way to ease into these different foods? Or is the best way to just dive right in?

thanks

NorthernMonkeyGirl is offline Senior Member

I'd say just keep trying as many different things as you can.

I can't eat fat alone, has to be in the same mouthful as some lean meat. Also if it gets cold I struggle (cold crispy chicken skin...eugh...).

The fat will still have soaked into the lean as it cooks - hence it being so tender and delicious - so don't worry that you're wasting it if you can't stomach it.

Athena is offline Senior Member

Ive actually found the opposite. I used to cringe at eating fatty cuts, maybe it was the mental CW state I was at the time. Now I love just chewing on lamb fat and I actually ate cold cooked ground beef with the solid fat all over it. delish!!

shastagirl Guest