Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grass-fed tallow = barnyard page

sarah k. is offline Member

Grass-fed tallow = barnyard

Primal Fuel
    I desperately want to be able to use tallow. I have a quart that I've been using little by little for more than 8 months, but when I cook with it, the whole kitchen smells like a state fair. My husband is not as sensitive to it as I, but I just can't use it often. Are there any tricks (besides using 1 part tallow to 3 parts bacon grease!)? Mushrooms are just not yummy sauteed in coconut oil.

Anyone? Anyone?

PaleoMom is offline Senior Member
    Yeah, I ended up mixing it with bird seed and hanging in the trees for the birds. I know EXACTLY what you mean about the tallow=barnyard. If you can find it, lard is of course awesome and flavorless.

jkr
    jkr is offline Senior Member
    It does have a bad smell but it is divine used to cook french fries. Open a window. ;-)

Analog6 is offline Senior Member
    Terranora, far north coast NSW, Australia
    My tallow that I render and clarify at home does not smell when I am cooking with it, except delicious. Is this bought or home rendered?
    Odille
    F 58 / 170cms / SW 131.5 kgs / Current 112.4/ GW 65
    following Primal Lifestyle and swimming my way to health

My Primal Blog / Photo Blog / RedBubble shop / My Calendars / My Facebook

Noctiluca is offline Senior Member
    No idea. I just try not to pay to much attention to the smell and cook more onions!

sarah k. is offline Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Noctiluca View Post
    No idea. I just try not to pay to much attention to the smell and cook more onions!
    *like*

I did cook up a whole large onion with 1 1/2 lbs of mushrooms, but the smell never went away. I ended up tossing in more bacon grease, a bunch of chicken broth, and pureeing the whole thing for mushroom soup, which was delicious and only faintly barn-y.