Thread: Partner and kids not primal page

Lizzielou is offline Senior Member

Partner and kids not primal

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi all

I'm pretty new to all this primal stuff and have lots of questions that I'm slowly figuring out - mostly finding some great answers on here.

My problem at the moment is that while I am really enjoying the whole primal thing and have totally eliminated most carbs from my diet, my husband and kids are not really ready to make that move with me. I think once I've been going a while and the results speak for themselves this will be enough evidence to convince them all. In the meantime I've made some changes to the way we are eating (our main evening meal mostly) and the kinds of foods we have in the house. What we want to know is that with them not eliminating carbs (maybe slightly reduced at most) are these primal meals/foods going to cause them more harm than good?

I get that as a low carb person I can use all these good fats and proteins just fine, but will my husband find that he'll start gaining weight by us swapping to full fat milk and cooking with plenty of butter (etc) while he is still a carb consumer?

I hope this makes sense, its a bit tricky to put into words! We have always lived fairly healthily according to CW and trying to fight against these ingrained behaviours is so difficult. I just don't want to do anything that might actually harm them, this feels a bit like an experiment with my health just at the moment.
    Last edited by Lizzielou; 03-22-2012 at 11:25 PM.

Meatgrrrl is offline Senior Member
    Totally get what you're saying... it's hard isn't it?!