Thread: Just starting out in Indiana page

shawnx is offline Junior Member

Just starting out in Indiana

Shop Now
    Hi!

I found out about Primal Blueprint from listening to Mark's interview on the Peter Schiff show. I think it's an older interview but I just heard/saw it on Youtube a couple of weeks ago. Anyway, it sounded perfect for me.

I've never been a dieter, I was a very skinny from childhood to early adulthood so there was never a need. In my early 20s, I was a very slim 120 lbs. Now in my mid 30s and after quitting smoking at 29, I gained a lot of weight, and fast. I went from 135 lbs to 170 lbs in 3 months! I'm only 5' 7" so that's a lot of weight for me. I maxed out last year at 180, and was 175 when I started the primal blueprint a week and a half ago.

I'm just starting to learn everything, and I haven't gotten the book yet, but I plan to in the near future. So far, I've just been going off the blog here and learning as I go. My wife is doing the diet with me and she's done Atkins before and it seems similar so she's been a big help.

For exercise, we're doing a 2 mile daily walk, which is is good for me since I sit at a desk all day. I plan to add some weight lifting to my routine soon.

Here's what I've been eating, let me know what you think.

Breakfast: Most of the time I skip. When I do eat breakfast it's usually eggs (boiled or scrambled with cheese) and bacon.

Lunch: Usually a salad with romaine lettuce, boiled eggs, tomatoes, green olives, shredded cheese, crumbled bacon and ranch dressing.

Dinner: Some kind of meat, steak or chicken usually and a salad just like the one I make for lunch.

Snacks: Pistachios and beef jerky

Pretty boring so far I know, but it's a start. I did download the free member cook book and made the grilled chicken recipe and it was VERY tasty! I plan to start making more stuff out of the cook book and buying Mark's cook book soon to add some variety!