Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: When does the body start to prefer fat over carbs? page

Kavinsky is offline Junior Member

When does the body start to prefer fat over carbs?

I am relatively new to the Primal Blueprint, have tried it off and on for the past few months but keep falling off the band wagon. This time, however, I am determined to make the switch to Primal living permanent and non-negotiable. I do have a question for all those who are successfully living by the Primal Blueprint. How long does it take to become accustomed to low carb eating and for your body to actually start to prefer burning fat over carbs? I feel like I read somewhere that it takes a period of time but I can't remember how long this adaption period lasts. Any insight would be really appreciated.

Thank you all!

sbhikes is offline Senior Member
    For me it was about 6 weeks. Prepare for people to tell you not to follow the low carb methodology that Mark recommends.
    Female, 5'3", 49, Starting weight: 163lbs. Current weight: 135 (more or less).
    Starting squat: 45lbs. Highest squat: 167.5 x 2. Current Deadlift: 190 x 3

VTmeetsMontréal is offline Senior Member
    How do you know when it does? (other than weightloss)? Are there signs when you body actually begins to prefer fat over carbs?

@lex is offline Senior Member