Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Blood glucose readings page

SGRhapsodos is offline Junior Member

Blood glucose readings

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hello!

I have been doing primal/paleo lifestyle for about 2 months now. I started this to manage celiac symptoms after going on a gluten free diet kept me depressed and with no energy. I used to eat a lot of rice, beans, etc after quitting gluten and felt horrible. I got a random blood glucose test at the time and it read 72 and it was about an hour after eating lunch. Fast forward now going on primal/paleo and my doctor recommended me to get a BG monitor. I decided to go for a test and ate 4 prunes. The base BG was 97 and then it spiked to 155 in 45 minutes. I felt pretty sick at this point, and re tested after 15 minutes and it dropped to 117. I measured again and it went up 135 on it's own. I then had a primal lunch and my bs had stayed stable at 120 for 3 hours now. The spike made me feel quite sick. My mom says that I need more carbs, but why do I have more energy since I took them off my diet?

js290 is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by SGRhapsodos View Post
    Hello!

I have been doing primal/paleo lifestyle for about 2 months now. I started this to manage celiac symptoms after going on a gluten free diet kept me depressed and with no energy. I used to eat a lot of rice, beans, etc after quitting gluten and felt horrible. I got a random blood glucose test at the time and it read 72 and it was about an hour after eating lunch. Fast forward now going on primal/paleo and my doctor recommended me to get a BG monitor. I decided to go for a test and ate 4 prunes. The base BG was 97 and then it spiked to 155 in 45 minutes. I felt pretty sick at this point, and re tested after 15 minutes and it dropped to 117. I measured again and it went up 135 on it's own. I then had a primal lunch and my bs had stayed stable at 120 for 3 hours now. The spike made me feel quite sick.