Thread: carb questions... page

haddock107 is offline Junior Member

carb questions...

Shop Now
    Hey all! I'm a newbie here. My husband and I have changed to the paleo/ primal lifestyle (Crossfit & all!) a little over 2 months ago. We are sold. He's lost 30lbs. I'm smaller & more fit than I ever was playing soccer & running my whole life. We love it. However, our friends not so much.

I have a friend whose degree was in exercise science. Her and I got into a discussion yesterday when she found out about the "diet" we're on. She said, "Well, I just couldn't do that. I need carbs because I work out (blah blah blah)." I said, "Oh we work out hard." (I didn't want to get all snobby and tell her that our Crossfit 'warm-up' is probably equivalent to her gym 'workout' ) She replied, "Well you're only going to be able to uphold that diet for so long before your body totally crashes on you. You need carbs."
    I just shrugged it off. I mean, I know there are hard-core athletes who eat this way no problem. But the "science" behind it I'm still unsure of, so I couldn't respond...
    What do you say to all that?

smilingjustalittlebit is offline Senior Member
    The fact that she has a degree does not make her an expert. She should actually do some reading of her own before blindly shooting it down.

The true science i'm unfamiliar with but what I do know, and all i need to know is this:

I no longer require sugar for energy. I no longer require all those healthy (cough) complex carbs for energy. Fat is my fuel and I will seek it everywhere I can find it!
    Do what you love and do it often. If you don't like something, change it. if you don't like your job, quit. If you don't have enough time, stop watching tv. If you are looking for the love of your life, stop, they will be waiting for you when you start doing the things you love. Stop over analyzing, life is simple. When you eat, appreciate every last bite. Some opportunities only come once, seize them.