Thread: Question on "natural" sweeteners page

Stella1964 is offline Junior Member

Question on "natural" sweeteners

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hello all, newbie here. Could I please have some clarification on the use of natural sweeteners in the PB program? I understand that Stevia is ok in moderation, but apparently Xylitol is out. I presume this no-no list also includes other non-GI affecting natural sweeteners (ie not concocted in a lab) like erythritol and oligofructose (prebiotic).

If this is true, why? If they are minimal in cals, have no carbs and no effect on GI, why would they not be allowed?

Tx
    Stella

DinoHunter is online now Senior Member
    My hubby uses stevia for his coffee. he was diagnosed diabetic about 3 years ago & that was one of the things we changed right away as stevia dosent spike your suger levels (he used to use sugar & drinks a fair bit of coffee) Hes no longer diabetic. hasent been for over 2 years (& yeah the drs are poed all to bits over that.. not possible, lab results must be wrong blah blah blah)
    Anyways as a sub for sugar I would definatly recomend the stevia.
    Xylitol we havent used & ive mostly heard "good" about it compared to say sugar but its toxic to dogs so if you were to use it & you have dogs then make sure its safely out of reach
    Every time I hear the dirty word 'exercise', I wash my mouth out with chocolate.

http://primaldog.blogspot.co.uk/

caveman josh is offline Member
    ALL sweeteners cause insulin to be released, not chemically in the stomach but just the sweet taste is enough for the brain to react. If your gonna want somthing sweet your better off consuming sugar, least we're designed to eat it.

zoebird is offline Senior Member
    Mark did a great blog post about this, so do a search and look it up! Well worth the read!

Quote Originally Posted by DinoHunter View Post