Thread: Protein packed primal snacks ideas page

Maravilla Guest

So I am in need of some protein heavy primal snacks that are portable, durable, quick to eat (I'm a teacher and have to scarf things down in about 60 seconds during the day) and of course tasty!

The Cocoa and Coconut balls posted recently are a great addition (with two scoops of whey protein added), and I've been doing boiled eggs, which I just have to peel ahead of time. I eat a ton of nuts, but that's just not enough protein for me. I need two snacks a day with at least 10 grams of protein each.

I don't have access to any chemical-free jerky, unfortunately, unless there's a good place to buy some online.

Any suggestions?

jpickett1968 Guest

I've not made them yet, but Mark has a recipe on here for Primal Bars. That would solve your durable/portable quandry.

Maravilla Guest

Thanks, Jpickett1968. But if these are the ones you mean (http://www.marksdailyapple.com/make-...10-easy-steps/) the problem is that all their protein is from nuts = not enough protein.

I eat plenty of nuts. I need another, richer source of protein!

Has anyone tried adding protein powder to the above Primal Bars? Maybe I'll try that... Seems like that would be the same thing as the Nut Balls that I just started making though...

LX
    LX is offline Senior Member

The primal bars are very tasty.

Do you like DIY projects? Alton Brown has a method for making your own jerky without a dehydrator. I'm gonna try it this weekend.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/a...ipe/index.html

jo
    jo is offline Senior Member

I take mini cheeses to work and salami sticks. Can't promise the salami is free of chemicals though.

ommmmaggie is offline Senior Member
    If you're feeling adventurous, you might try making your own traditional pemmican. Dried meat, animal fat, and fruit or berries. Boom! A quick snack packed with animal protein.

http://www.grandpappy.info/rpemmica.htm