Thread: Fueling up for rugby page

Blubberboy Guest

Primal Fuel

I'm pretty new to the whole primal diet and have only really been applying the principles for the last 3 odd weeks.

I was wondering how to adapt the diet to playing rugby. I'm playing in a cup final tomorrow and was wondering how to fuel up for 80 minutes of hard intense rugby (plus an hour odd warm ups).

Normally I would carbo load the night before and the morning around 10am. Kick off is 2.30 and I usually can't eat for a few hours before. Plus tomorrow we're on a bus at 9.30 so breakfast will 8ish. Team lunch about 11.30-12 (which could be anything).

Do I just need to really up my fats instead of carbs. What sort of meals would you suggest tonight and tomorrow (and maybe something to take along instead of the team lunch). Not really sure how to get enough calories in as munching on protein gets me full quick. Kind of at a loss what my meals should consist of especilly match day where it needs to be light enough to sit and digest easily

Thanks!

AndyB Guest