Thread: Newbie hello page

TwinkiesnKetchup is offline Junior Member

Newbie hello

Hello all, I'm a newbie to the forum but not to the primal diet. I was dxed as diabetic in 1984 when I lost part of my pancreas when my appendix ruptured. I was placed on insulin and struggled daily with depression. I was a college athlete at the time on scholarship for basketball and it was a daily mental challenge to just get up in the morning, none the less work out and compete. A doctor put me on an Adkins type diet and within three weeks I was off insulin and feeling amazing.

I've followed this diet until I went to back to school for my MSW (2009). I took a bunch of nutrition classes and "learned" how horrible this diet was for me. It scared the holy hell out of me! I immediately changed to the low fat diet and even though I was running daily gained 30 pounds in three months. I switched to a starvation diet and my blood sugar went through the roof (285).

I went to my doctor who wanted to put me back on insulin and I could not find a doctor who could believe me that I felt better on my Adkins’s type diet. I finally found Mark's daily apple, bought his book and am on the primal diet. Feeling pretty well, but I still have about 20 pounds of weight left to lose. It’s funny, I've never been fat in my life until I went on a low fat diet! Oh well, live and learn.

Hedonist is offline Senior Member
    Welcome! Glad you joined us.
    Ancestral Health Info

I design websites and blogs for a living. If you would like a blog or website designed by someone who understands Primal, see my web page.

Primal Blueprint Explorer My blog for people who are not into the Grok thing. Since starting the blog, I have moved close to being Archevore instead of Primal. But Mark's Daily Apple is still the best source of information about living an ancestral lifestyle.

kennadygraham is offline Junior Member