Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What if you can't always get grass-fed/organic? page

Lillian is offline Member

Primal Fuel

I just started going primal after meticulous research (and ordering the primal blueprint online), and being a former (misled) low-fat vegetarian, I see the error in my ways now. The thing is, I'm still concerned about the same things as I was before: meats that are fed corn/grains and pumped full of antibiotics/hormones. I'm trying to get in enough protein everyday, but there's only so much you can do with eggs. I want to start eating meats again, but what should I do when I can't always afford the organic/grass-fed? We have some organic poultry farms where you can individually pick out the ones you want, but aside from that, I'm not sure what else I can do as I live with my parents, and as a college student, I don't always have the money to get the organic/grass-fed meats. Should I make-do with what they buy? Although it is mostly meat from the supermarket (which leads back to the dilemma above...) Any tips and ideas would be helpful

LX
    LX is offline Senior Member

Save yourself first. Save the world after. - that's my motto. There's a reason the flight attendants tell you to put your mask on before helping anyone else.

I make do with the grocery store cuts. It's not ideal for my health, it's not ideal for the animals, and it's not ideal for the planet. But it's better for my health than low-fat/high-carb. Once I'm in a place I can afford the good stuff I'll get grass-fed/ pastured animal products. But until then I make do how I can.

OnTheBayou is offline Senior Member
    Sarasota, Florida, USA, Earth, Milky Way Galaxy

LX: So well said!

I used to buy "the good stuff." I can't now. Hopefully some day I will again. There just isn't any local farm meat, eggs that I can find, at least in small quantities. Sorry, I can't do $16-26/lb beef.

Better CAFO than VEG-O!

Lillian is offline Member