Thread: Struggling college student page

Wildhorse is offline Junior Member

Struggling college student

Hi all,

I've been dappling in the paleo/primal sphere for about a year now, since my brother-in-law introduced me to the lifestyle. I am completely sure that this is the lifestyle that I want to lead, and have seen great results when I manage to stick to it. My problem is that I am a college student living in a dorm and eating on a meal plan. There is a very small amount of literature out there for living primally in college, probably because it is extremely difficult. The meals that I get in our eatery consist of about 80% grains and a tiny amount of meat/veggies. It's all economics - grains are cheap. I am struggling with what to eat because my choices are so limited. Only choices for fruit at school are apples and bananas, which I really shouldn't be eating anyway because of the high carb content.

I'm moving off campus in May, and I will be able to buy and cook all my own food (thank goodness) but I have 4 months left eating this food, and I really want to be able to stick with it, and gain back my health.

Any advise?

dado Guest
    four months isn't that much time. put it in perspective.

do what you can right now, maybe get some coconut oil and take it straight from the spoon in the morning. this will add fat, then maybe fast a day or two. little things like that to chip away at the negatives.

but you won't die if you ride this out for four months then go full primal when you are away from the meal plan.

your objective right now is to blunt the corrosive effects of the meal plan diet. you're in management mode right now. go raw balls when it's your time.

dado Guest
    and what are you studying?

evertastica is offline Member