Hi, everyone:

I'm pretty new to the primal scene (the eating more than the exercising). I have Type 1 diabetes, and have a bit of experience with low-carbing as a means of controlling blood sugar I tried the Dr. Bernstein ultra low-carb approach, but it had some features that really turned me off. The Primal Blueprint approach seems more appealing and makes physiological sense, so I'm giving it a go.

I've exercised all of my adult life. For the past few years I've been rowing (2-hour sessions, 3-4 x per week), weight training (45-60 minutes, 2 x per week), interval training (tabatas, max. once a week), and cycling (as transportation, every day).

It's still early days for the diet I went primal 5 days ago but I thought I'd share a few goals and uncertainties. Any advice or comments would be great!

My stats:

Sex: F
Weight: 150
Height: 5'7"
Meds: Insulin (via pump), Synthroid (after having my thyroid nuked for Graves' disease)

My goals:

Steady blood sugars more of the time
Enough energy to do my workouts (This was a problem on ultra low-carb.)
Lose ~10 lbs, and/or swap some fat for muscle
Reduce or eliminate various annoyances, including PMS, mild eczema, and chronic hunger

Some random questions:

I'm still fuelling my rowing workouts (which include cycling to/from the lake) with fruit and/or starchy veg + pure dextrose if my blood sugar goes too low. Do these carbs mean I need to be more cautious about fat intake (ie. if I want to lose weight)? For example, I've been treating the hunger pangs I still get with a spoonful of almond and coconut butter, and the fat-phobic part of my brain gets a little panicky!

Given that T1 diabetes (and its hypoglycemic complications) + my beloved rowing regimen make it unlikely I'll ever be able to ditch carbohydrates completely, can I expect ever to escape the chronic hunger pangs that bother me?