Thread: Primal Qi (Chi) page

Tom B-D is offline Senior Member

Primal Qi (Chi)

Shop Now
    Hi All,
    I'm a newbie, went Primal February 12, 2012, and am greatly enjoying this journey, in large part due to this excellent, supportive community and website. Thanks, Mark and everyone! I'd like to share my story in brief:

I'm 47, an architect with my own office, and father of 2 (7&9 yrs old), great kids, with a wonderful, incredibly supportive wife (literally the day I read PB she went out and bought me virgin Coconut Oil etc.) My exercise 5 years ago was almost entirely competitive tennis and occasional strength training. About 4 years ago I started having injuries (tennis elbow, lower back) and illnesses (colds, stomach complaints) with alarming frequency. I had just started my own business, and we had learned at the same time that our son has Cystic Fibrosis. Needless to say, the stress was monumental. My search for health led me to acupuncture (tennis elbow), and fortunately the practitioner I found was well-versed in Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM), which looks at the mind-body-emotion makeup (sleep, digestion, stress). Due to my "spleen chi deficiency" she suggested I eat a diet primarily of cooked vegetables, eliminate wheat and dairy, and have moderate meats and low fat; she also suggested I sleep more and generally take it easier on myself--my Qi was low, and getting lower!

I had no trouble eliminating wheat and dairy (oats mostly as well), and this began a radical transformation--I went from 195lb. to about 180 over the course of some months (wasn't really keeping track), and started practicing Tai Chi and Qi Gong to get a better handle on stress. I was lucky to find a Qi Gong master who teaches that the practice should help put us in touch with the universe--or, as I like to think of it now, our Primal Self!