Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Need some help with a response .... page

Spesh2012 is offline Junior Member

Need some help with a response ....

Shop Now
    Hello!

This is my first post here in the forum, but I'm hoping for some help!

I'm new to the primal/paleo lifestyle and am currently in the middle of my first Whole30 challenge. I've been seeing my trainer for a few weeks now and he asked me to send him my meals for the last couple of weeks. I did just that and he responded telling me that my meal plans were NOT GOOD (yes, he used all caps) and said that even if I show I'm losing weight it's only because my body is eating it's own lean muscle mass.

All of my meals are Whole30 compliant (and consists of a protein and 1-2 types of veggies likely cooked in coconut oil), but I'm also omitting fruit (they trigger my sugar cravings) and nuts (because I have no portion control issues).

I have written him back asking what is wrong with my diet and how can eating whole, unprocessed foods be bad. He has not responded and likely won't until tomorrow.

I'm still so new to this lifestyle that I don't know how to appropriately respond to him.

I have a feeling he's going to tell me that I need to eat 5-6 times a day and need to eat some sort of carb/whole grain either before or after my workout. I was thinking of adding a sweet potato on my workout days, but am trying to be careful because I do want to lose some weight. If it matters, I have about 50 pounds to lose so I am far from goal.

Anyone have any good suggestions on a response or maybe corrections in my plan in case I'm doing something wrong?

jimhensen is offline Senior Member
    This guy obviously has no idea what he is talking about. The only way your body would be eating lean muscle is if you are not getting adequate protein, which is unlikely if you are eating meat at every meal. Also, even if you didn't have adequate protein you would still be losing mostly fat because you need to lose 50 pounds.