Thread: Sort of a Newbe intro page

silverfox is offline Junior Member

Sort of a Newbe intro

Shop Now
    Hi, I've been lurking on here for awhile and finally decided to introduce myself. I've been enjoying browsing through this forum. I got interested in this diet after reading Good Calories Bad Calories. After reading that I went looking for something that I could actually recommend to people who don't have the science background to get through Taubs, and stumbled onto The Primal Blueprint.

I'm a 25 year old grad student (Doctorate in Physical Therapy). I have celiac disease so I've never intentionally eaten any grains besides rice and corn. I've always eaten pretty healthy. Fruits, veggies, grass fed meat, but I do have a bit of a sweet tooth. I have lyme disease so I'm in the process of trying to make my diet even healthier. I am currently going into my second month of only eating sugar (in moderation) on Saturdays. I know that primal blueprint discourages having a cheat day, but I have found it is easier for me to not eat it at all than to try to eat it in small quantities on a more frequent basis. My Saturday treat is typically something like coconut ice cream, or a couple of dark chocolate peanut butter cups. In terms of the rest of my diet, I do eat potatoes and rice occasionally (maybe once a week), but otherwise I'm mostly eating meat, veggies, fat, fruit.

I am not overweight (142lbs at 5 6' and 19% bodyfat). I was an exercise science major for my undergraduate so I've been doing heavy weight training for years. Currently doing the convict conditioning program + kettbells twice a week, and then one day of heavy weights at the gym. I'm curious to see if I lose a bit of fat with cutting out sugar. Although I don't particularly care if I do, it was kind of fun maintaining at 16% in college.