Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Injured and discouraged page

paleo pika is offline Member

Injured and discouraged

Hey friends,

I've been fighting with a low back injury for the last few years and find myself wondering if I'm ever going to have a pain-free day again. I have a couple of herniated discs and what are apparently significant enough degenerative changes that the docs have slapped me with the 'degenerative disc disease' label. Not that it's actually any kind of disease...

I've heard the best thing to do is to just keep exercising and try to be active. I've been stuck in the cycle of knowing I need to try and strengthen my back, but doing so makes the pain worse, so I stop after a while and get weaker. Since going primal six months ago, I've not noticed any decrease in pain (was hoping maybe some of the inflammation would get noticeably better from kicking grains but it hasn't). I have had more energy, so I've been more active than the last few years. I started playing hockey a couple of months ago and love it, but I've had numbness down my left leg that has been steadily getting worse since I started playing. This makes me think one of the discs is active again and it isn't just arthritic.

I've been in PT, I've been doing all the exercises, I've been getting the steroid shots that don't help any longer (they did right after the injury occurred), it just seems like no matter what I do it keeps getting worse. I can't help but feel like I'm heading for a wheelchair.

I'm only 23. I'm otherwise in good health. I'm so so bummed and down about it.

Has anyone else had any success in rehabbing a lumbar injury or an arthritic low back? I could use any and all suggestions.

Kakes is offline Senior Member
    Have you seen a chiropractor? I have a family full of them, and I've seen them work wonders.
    You don't have to be sick to get better.
    Female, 31 years old, 5'8"
    Primal start: 1/2/2012
    My Primal Journal
    Living, loving and learning.