Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coconut Oil Smell page

fleet_fox is offline Junior Member

Shop Now

Hey everyone,

I just picked up some coconut oil nearby. Its Laxmi Brand and it doesn't have any additives as far as I can tell.

However this is my first time buying this product, and it has a very strong chemical-ish smell to it. Nothing sweet or aromatic like normal shredded coconut.

Is it possible that it is no good or is this normal for coconut oil? The consistency is very think and almost wax-like.

Thanks

Zophie is offline Senior Member

Hey there,

It is normal for it to be thick like that. I just gave mine a sniff and it just has a very mild smell not chemical at all. I bet it is just the brand you got. Was it in the fridge when you got it? I know that it can go rancid after a while.

fleet_fox is offline Junior Member

Yea it wasn't refrigerated. It also doesn't say "extra virgin" if that makes a difference. It has probably been on the shelf for a while.

I went back to the shop (an indian grocery mart) and the clerk said that is the normal smell but I'm not sure I believe them.

Tara tootie is offline Senior Member

Is it in a blue bottle?

Life on Earth may be punishing, but it includes an annual free trip around the sun!

janaturner is offline Junior Member

I've had that smell regardless of how "unprocessed" the jar proclaims it to be! I haven't been able to figure out why there's such variance. I don't remember the last brand I had but it was the worst. Artisana is pretty good but Nutiva has the best aroma and flavour of any I've tried so far. I can eat Nutiva straight out of the jar.

Tara tootie is offline Senior Member

Okay well I got one from the indian grocer and I thought it smelled like hot dogs!!! So I just use it fo lotion, I would never eat it. Just go ahead and go to the health food store and get some... its very faintly sweet and coconutty.

Life on Earth may be punishing, but it includes an annual free trip around the sun!