Thread: Cartilage issues in rib cage (I think) from BJJ? page

cantat is offline Senior Member

Cartilage issues in rib cage (I think) from BJJ?

Primal Fuel
    Hi all. I've been training BJJ for about nine months, and have periodically experienced a popping sound and feeling similar to what you get when you pop your knuckles or back, but in my sternum. However, lately, it's happening more frequently, and I have some pain on occasion in that area when I move my arm in a specific way (raised almost to shoulder height, bent at the elbow so my fingers are pointing towards the opposite shoulder, and angled slightly across my chest - almost like I'm trying to reach across and scratch the back of my other arm. So, compression.).

I'm a short female and train mostly with guys, many of whom are much taller and heavier than me, so I've had guys who are 220 pounds kneeling on my rib cage. Also, of course, all the other stuff that goes with BJJ that could affect my rib cage. I'm guessing the cartilage where one rib meets my sternum has gotten fucked up, or perhaps popped out of place. Does anybody have any experience with this, and does that sound like it might be it? Do you know how it might be treated? It's not intense or limiting, but if it doesn't go away I guess I'll have to get it checked out...but I don't want to take a break from training! Thanks for any thoughts.
    Last edited by cantat; 02-19-2012 at 05:03 PM.
    29/F
    5'4.5
    Highest weight: 220
    Starting weight: 195
    Current weight: 179
    Goal weight: 127

Kakes is offline Senior Member