Thread: new from canada page

FitMama is offline Junior Member

new from canada

Primal Fuel
    Hi everyone!

I am new to the forum, but not new to the site. In April of 2010, a friend of mine directed me here after she sent me some information about gluten and dairy intolerance. When I showed my SO the list of symptoms for gluten intolerance, he said that all of them applied to him. Within two weeks he went gluten free and noticed a huge difference in how he felt: his eczema cleared up, his depression lifted, his energy increased and a lot of his abdominal and intestinal discomforts had also cleared up. This spurred him on to eliminate dairy too, as he knew it upset his system too. Within 5 months he dropped 60 pounds, and has maintained that ever since. He occassionally cheats with dairy, but rarely with gluten, as he suffers the consquences for days.

I work in the fitness industry and have always eaten relatively clean, but subscribed to the thinking of eating 6 meals a day, lower in fat, higher in protein. Which worked for me for the most part. However, I discovered that it almost made me hypoglycemic. I couldn't go longer than about 2-3 hours without food without getting a headache, getting shaky and getting ravenously hungry. When I found this site, I started including more fats in my diet and noticed a difference in the way I felt (I *love* full fat greek yogurt!). The headaches and shakiness went away and my hunger was slow to come on. I can go about 4-5 hours before feeling hungry now. While I was making all of our dinners gluten and dairy free, I was not eating primal yet.