Thread: Choosing Pilates Instructor, type of instruction and studio etiquette page

Ihavelight is offline Junior Member

Question Choosing Pilates Instructor, type of instruction and studio etiquette

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    At the suggestion of someone on this forum I decided to join a pilates studio.
    I have never done pilates before and initial google search of same left me a bit overwhelmed.
    So, I am posing questions to those who have done pilates for years or, perhaps, are pilates instructors themselves:

1. does instructor have to be certified, and, if so, are all certifications created equal?
    2. what other questions should i pose to the potential instructor?
    3. how do I pick a specific pilates method (i noticed there are mat workouts, Stott(?), Romana?, etc.
    4. what should I know about the studio etiquette?
    5. how many classes a week are optimal?
    5. anything else I should be aware of?

I think I will start with a few private lessons first. Since it is a substantial financial investment for me and I do have pre-existing back pain issues, I am being extra careful. Your comments are appreciated.

zoebird is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Ihavelight View Post
    At the suggestion of someone on this forum I decided to join a pilates studio.
    I have never done pilates before and initial google search of same left me a bit overwhelmed.
    So, I am posing questions to those who have done pilates for years or, perhaps, are pilates instructors themselves.
    I am not a pilates instructor, nor have I done pilates for years, but I have done pilates and I have friends who are instructors. I teach yoga and have for years.

1. does instructor have to be certified, and, if so, are all certifications created equal?