Thread: Pemmican From Ground Beef page

wrinkledamanda is offline Junior Member

Pemmican From Ground Beef

Shop Now
    Hey guys!

I am interested in making large batches of pemmican from ground beef if that's possible (only because I am under the belief that ground beef is the cheapest meat).

My goal is to have a weekend once a month or two where I make a ton of pemmican for me to eat for most meals. I love the convenience of that all beef diet - not having to ever think about what I'm going to eat -supplemented with veggies here and there if I have to... but I am now involved with so many things that I don't always have the time to cook beef, and then I don't have a microwave to warm it up. The leftovers aren't as palatable, so I waste beef. Being a college student, I can't afford to waste anything! It would be so perfect to be able to whip out a strip of pemmican and eat it wherever I am. My local butcher shop sells 10lb bags of ground beef for $25, and if anyone knows how I could make pemmican from that, I would appreciate if you could share your tips!

I should probably note that I have done the all beef "diet", and I feel great when doing it. I always mess up, though, because of the inconvenience. I wanted to mention this so no one thinks I'm delusional!
    Last edited by wrinkledamanda; 02-16-2012 at 11:25 AM.

Noctiluca is offline Senior Member
    I would say you can probably make pemmican out of ground beef. You would need to dehydrate the ground beef like you would make any other meat into jerky and then make the pemmican. Maybe since it's already ground you wouldn't have to chop it up for the pemmican? I'd say buy a bit and try it!

slowcooker is offline Senior Member
    I don't think ground beef would work..
    Here is a good pemmican PDF
    http://www.traditionaltx.us/images/PEMMICAN.pdf
    And instructions for a home made dehydrator
    http://www.rawpaleodiet.com/wp-conte...structions.pdf
    Last edited by slowcooker; 02-16-2012 at 04:22 PM.