Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dairy? page

Rattybag is offline Senior Member

Dairy?

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Why is dairy not classed as Paleo? I can understand why cows milk and products isnt for obvious reasons, but surely goats would be acceptable?
    and what about other milks? i.e. sheep, buffalo etc?

I know this is obvious to some so Im expecting my usual "know it all" replies I often seem to get. But Im a newbie and cant find an answer to this in any of Marks articles, and Im very keen to learn as much as I can about eating Primal.
    Thank you.

Fernaldo is offline Senior Member
    There is nothing wrong with dairy. Does this sentence make sense to you, "eat the entire cow, but don't drink the milk". It doesn't to me. Unless you have an allergy, dairy is fine. Why the paleo exclusion? I'm sure there is some ridiculous reason behind it

Nady is offline Senior Member
    I guess if *Wild Cow Milking* is a rodeo event, paleo man could have found a way to do it too~ And that would, of course, include all bovine and/or other hoofed mammals. Not saying it was an every day food source, but in the spring~ why not?

DaisyEater is offline Senior Member
    It isn't really in keeping with an ancestral diet. We haven't been working with domesticated animals all that long, so it is a somewhat novel food, though I believe it does pre-date grain agriculture. As with many novel foods, it causes negative reactions in quite a few people, but there are some people that are well adapted to it. If you're one of those folks, then I say go for it. I think it's worth eliminating it for awhile and adding it back to make sure it's not a problem for you, though. I eat a little dairy and I'm fine with it. It's mostly high-fat stuff like butter and cream, but I also like some cheese now and then.

Nady is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by DaisyEater View Post