Thread: Primal fear page

Freemo is offline Junior Member

Primal fear

Shop Now
    Hi,

I'm new to primal, have read The Primal Blueprint several times and feeling really confused at the moment and it's kind of stopping me taking the plunge into this way of living. I've read loads of books on health and dieting such as Body for Life and 'Burn the Fat, feed the muscle' and they seem to emphasise balancing proteins and carbs so I'm finding myself 'flip flopping' between different approaches and getting nowhere.
    I'm 6 foot 2 and 265lb with about 35% body fat at age 31 and really want to lose 70lb before Xmas 2012.
    A few questions if I may:

1) Have any of you lost muscle eating and exercising this way?
    2) Is this way of eating sustainable for the long term?
    3) What rate of fat loss should a person of my size expect on the programme?
    4) Tom Venuto says it is very hard to stay on low carb for any length of time. Is he correct?

Regards,

Neil

<archer> is offline Junior Member
    I can answer 1,2, and 4.
    1. I have not lost any muscle. I've gained it. What builds muscle? Protien. What are you getting ample amounts of on Primal? Protien.
    2. YES! Primal is definitely sustainable. After a month or two, for most people, you don't crave the grains. You realise how wonderful steak and broccoli is, and never want to go back.
    4. Four is similar to two. Nope. Our bodies should be using fat as a fuel source, which is what Primal trains it to do. And, when you get to a point of wanting carbs back: sweet potatoes. Best thing ever. My understanding is low carb is for weight loss. Check out Mr. Sisson's "carbohydrate curve"

I encourage you, like everyone on this blog and forum, to just try Primal. You don't have to believe or understand the science. Try it for a month, no cheating, and see for yourself is Primal is the way to go. Which it is. Grok on!

whitebear is offline Senior Member