Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can kettlebells be a drop-in replacement for Lift Heavy Things? page

Robokevin is offline Junior Member

Can kettlebells be a drop-in replacement for Lift Heavy Things?

Hello all,

I'm new to primal, but a long time girevik. I see the kettlebells seem to be popular on the forum, which makes me happy.

My question is regarding the "Lift Heavy Things" directive. Do kettlebells count as heavy things? I've always considered kettlebells being more for conditioning, and the phrase "Lift Heavy Things", I associate with power lifting and olympic lifting (Which are fine forms of exercise that I personally do not enjoy).

Is a basic hardstyle routine enough? I'm talking turkish getups, swings, snatches, clean and press, military press, squats (goblet, overhead), renegade rows, etc. The max that I swing is a 106lb and the max that I military press (one arm, obviously) is 70lb. I am a big boy though.

This is a 3-day a week thing and combined with lots of hiking with my dog and (soon to be) weekly sprinting workouts.

I'm more than happy with this routine (I've been doing kettlebells for several years) for my strength and conditioning needs, but because the book is so focused on hormonal changes and gene expression, I was wondering if this would not cut the muster as far as lifting heavy things is concerned.

Any thoughts?
    Last edited by Robokevin; 02-09-2012 at 06:02 AM.

RichMahogany is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Robokevin View Post
    Hello all,

I'm new to primal, but a long time girevik. I see the kettlebells seem to be popular on the forum, which makes me happy.

My question is regarding the "Lift Heavy Things" directive. Do kettlebells count as heavy things? I've always considered kettlebells being more for conditioning, and the phrase "Lift Heavy Things", I associate with power lifting and olympic lifting (Which are fine forms of exercise that I personally do not enjoy).