Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's wrong with Unsweetened Almond Milk? page

gloucesterjohn is offline Junior Member

What's wrong with Unsweetened Almond Milk?

Primal Fuel
    Ok, so I'm just getting into this, reading the 21 Day Book, ordered some Grass Feed Beef, etc. I'm all in on Salads, Veggies, Meats, Seafood. But the book says throw away the Almond Milk.

But what's wrong with my morning shake of Unsweetened Almond Milk, some Fruit and Brewer's Yeast?

The Almond Milk has 0 Carbs and 0 Sugar, Brewer's Yeast is loaded with B12 and others micro nutrients and I like it ?

John

namelesswonder is offline Moderator
    What are the ingredients in the almond milk?
    Journal on depression/anxiety
    Currently trying to figure out WTF to eat (for IBS-C).

Hi, here's the ingredients from the Blue Diamond Unsweetened Product

Original
    Ingredients: almondmilk (filtered water, almonds), calcium carbonate, tapioca starch, sea salt, potassium citrate, carrageenan, sunflower lecithin, natural flavor, vitamin a palmitate, vitamin d2 and d-alpha-tocopherol (natural vitamin e).

Fat 5%, (0 Sat/Trans), Carb 0%, Sugars 0g, Protein 1g ...

John

namelesswonder is offline Moderator
    Generally it's not "okay" because it's processed. Making your own would be the best bet, but either way, you are exposing yourself to a rather large amount of omega-6 with very little nutritional value. I always think it's worth cutting something out that's in the gray area to see how much you really miss it 2-3 weeks later. Please tell me that's not all you eat for breakfast!
    Journal on depression/anxiety
    Currently trying to figure out WTF to eat (for IBS-C).

Thanks for the info. No, this is not all I have for breakfast. Usually I'd follow with Greek Yogurt, or now that I'm going primal a couple eggs.

One thing about eggs through I see that two have 140% daily cholesterol, yikes ...

carlh is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by gloucesterjohn View Post