Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Protein shakes or no shakes? page

Rattybag is offline Senior Member

Protein shakes or no shakes?

Primal Fuel
    Hello,
    Can I ask why there seems to be a lot of comments about ditching the protein shakes for people that are struggling to lose weight? I thought the low carb high protein shakes were good!
    If they wernt good, why is the shakes advertised on the side of the forum?
    Im new at this and a bit confused.
    Sorry to ask what might be obvious to others!
    Thank you.

Pebbles67 is offline Senior Member
    The theory is that it is better to get your protein from real food. I'm sure that is true.

I actually use a whey isolate PP in order to reach my high protein goals. It works for me.

Some research says that whey PP raises blood sugar because its source is dairy.

jsa23 is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Pebbles67 View Post
    The theory is that it is better to get your protein from real food. I'm sure that is true.

I actually use a whey isolate PP in order to reach my high protein goals. It works for me.

Some research says that whey PP raises blood sugar because its source is dairy.
    With whey, it's not about a big blood sugar spike, but rather a hefty insulin spike - this is something that all products with dairy proteins tend to do. It's part of the reason why drinking protein shakes as meal replacements/snacks all day isn't a great idea, but having them immediately post-workout can be productive.

For me personally I use whey occasionally - mostly post-workout, when I want to eat something but don't take a lot of time to prepare. I also use fat-free, unsweetened Greek Yogurt for the same purpose some times - basically a high-protein, low-fat, low-carbohydrate food that I can add things(like fruit) to, for a quick snack. Yes, I know the discussion about fat-free vs. full fat; post-workout tends to be the exception where quick absorption works to our advantage.